Home > Off-Field Issues > RIP Chris Henry

RIP Chris Henry

Official police reports now claim that former Cincinnati Bengals WR Chris Henry has died from multiple injuries sustained in an automobile accident yesterday.

According to several reports, Henry was involved in a domestic dispute with his fiancee yesterday when he allegedly jumped in the back of a moving pickup truck his fiancee was driving, and was later thrown from the vehicle. His body was found on the side of a residential road in Charlotte, NC and he was rushed to the hospital where he was pronounced dead at approximately 6:30 this morning.

While I do think what he did was monumentally stupid, now is not the time to discuss what he could have done to avoid this mess. However, I wrote an article about this story for my weekly column at You Gab Sports, primarily focusing on Henry’s lack of responsibility in the situation (and the premature reports of his death). If you’re interested in reading it, you can do so by clicking here.

Please keep in mind that it was written before Henry passed away, and it should not be taken as “speaking ill of the dead” — because he was alive at the time the article was written, and the primary focus of the article was on the premature report of his death by the media, not the domestic situation between him and his fiancee*.

My condolences to the Bengals and the family of Chris Henry.

* * * *

* – In other words, please don’t think I’m being insensitive.

Categories: Off-Field Issues Tags:
  1. LestersLegends
    17 December 2009 at 4:01 PM

    Even though he lead a tumultuous life, this was still a tragic loss. My thoughts and prayers are with his family and friends.

  2. bwsmith25
    17 December 2009 at 4:39 PM

    You're right — it is very sad that his life had to end this way.

  3. http://www.ehow.com/members/stevemar2-articles.html
    17 December 2009 at 5:10 PM

    I'm not a Bengals fan, but it's still very sad how he died. RIP

  4. The BEEZE
    17 December 2009 at 8:53 PM

    Maybe I'm just cold…Okay, I am…But I don't really feel sad, or anything…I feel bad for his family…But I also felt bad for them when he continued to be a major screw-up…To sound even colder, I'm betting on the Bengals this week!

  5. bwsmith25
    17 December 2009 at 9:26 PM

    Maybe I'm just cold…Understatement of the year, perhaps? LMAO, j/k.I do feel bad for his family, but like I said in my post at the Gab: he should have known what could happen before he decided to jump in the back of a moving vehicle. It wasn't the smartest move he could have made.

  6. LestersLegends
    18 December 2009 at 2:22 PM

    The 911 call didn't paint the scene is a very favorable light for Henry. It's still sucks that he couldn't fully get his life in order and that he passed right before Christmas.

  7. bwsmith25
    18 December 2009 at 3:28 PM

    That's the worst part for me — the fact that the kids have to face the fact that they lost their dad a week before Christmas. Very tragic indeed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

