Home > Offseason > Hey Julius: Cry me a river!

Hey Julius: Cry me a river!

I haven’t written on the Julius Peppers situation for two reasons.

1. I’ve been really busy and haven’t had much time to collect my thoughts.

2. I didn’t want to get into a lot of speculation as to what he was or wasn’t going to do.

Now, I think it’s safe to assume that he’s not coming back to Carolina, and I can honestly say that I don’t even care. Sure, he’s one of the best defensive ends when he is healthy and when he wants to play, but it’s those times when he doesn’t want to play that bother me. Peppers has a problem with giving a full effort for 16 complete games, and I can’t imagine paying someone upwards of $20M to only give 100% effort some of the time when there are plenty of other players who will bust their butts on the field and give everything they’ve got for significantly less money.

It’s just not worth the time, the money, or the hassle.

Furthermore, I am getting tired of his crybaby antics. Listen dude, we don’t want to hear your “they haven’t talked to me so I guess they don’t love me anymore” excuse. It’s called waiting to see if there’s even going to be a 2011 season before shelling out millions of dollars on one player. You know that Collective Bargaining Agreement that people keep talking about? Well, it determines how much money each team can afford to spend on players – so don’t you think that maybe the team is waiting to see if it’s worth the money to pay you? Have you not thought about that? Maybe they’re keeping their mouths shut to find out how the CBA is going to play out before signing any players to long term deals.

So Julius, please shut up with your whiny “nobody loves me anymore” crap. We don’t want to hear it. Maybe if you played your heart out on the field as much as you wear it on your sleeve during the offseason we wouldn’t even be having this problem, because the team would do whatever it takes to retain you. But, as I see it: you’re not worth the trouble.

There are 31 other teams out there, and there are surely one or two that need a defensive end and are willing to pay you the money you think you deserve. If you think you can get a better deal than the superstar treatment you have received in Carolina, then by all means go for it.

Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

Categories: Offseason Tags: ,
  1. 20 February 2010 at 8:07 AM

    I agree BDub, but know a days Peppers seems like the norm not only in the league, but life itself.

    He is a great physical talent and a above average football player which doesn’t equal out to huge money. I’m sure he’ll get his, but that will be somebody else’s problem. He is no longer what we can call a foundation piece in building a championship contender. The heart just isn’t there.

  2. bwsmith25
    20 February 2010 at 2:40 PM

    Yeah – he will get what he wants. There are owners out there who will over pay for players (cough – Daniel Snyder and Al Davis – cough), so Peppers will play somewhere.

    I say let him go – he can be someone else’s problem for a change.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

