Home > Offseason > Steve Smith wants another receiver

Steve Smith wants another receiver

The Panthers have a lot of choices to make in the upcoming draft. Do they take a defensive end to replace Peppers, do they take a defensive tackle, or do they take a wide receiver? There are certainly plenty of arguments for each one of those choices, and each one makes sense in it’s own right – but the Panthers have at least one player who feels that offense should be the main focus in the draft.

In a recent interview*, Panthers receiver Steve Smith said that he would like for the Panthers to pursue another fast receiver to complement him in the offense.

After being asked about a previous statement in which Smitty claimed that the team needed to get a faster receiver, the Incendiary One felt that he needed to clarify what he meant.

Smitty:

What I meant by getting a fast receiver … is that I am getting older. I’ll take that role of getting older. Let me get in the slot. Let a young guy run outside. I ran clear-outs for Moose Muhammad and Ricky Proehl back in the day, and I was happy to do that. Now we need another guy to do that.

He also had these nuggets of information:

Not that I am losing a step … I can dominate the outside, but I want to move into the slot and prolong my career. Let the new guys play outside and just run aimlessly. I am looking for a young, aimless runner. … I don’t want to be the grumpy, old receiver who can’t let go of the No. 1 spot. I’ll give the freedom to the young guys; let them be kings. Let those guys catch the 50-yard bombs. I can take a five-yard out route and run 50 yards with it. … As long as I am in the car, I am straight. I ain’t riding on the hood and I am not in the trunk. I don’t have to drive, but don’t get me in the car with (a receiver) who doesn’t have his learner’s permit. He’s got to be certified to drive. And I’ll be the guy to complement him, not the other way around.

What do I think? I think that Smitty is dead on target with this. It’s hard not to agree with a guy who understands what this team needs, and if anyone knows what it’s like to be the only receiving threat in an offense, it’s Steve Smith. I just hope the front office listens to him and drafts a receiver who can play outside and let Smitty work the middle like he wants. Because if that happens, linebackers everywhere will learn just how dynamic Steve Smith really is.

And that’s all he wants to do. He simply wants to let the world know just how good he is, and how much he loves the game of football. What more can you ask for in a player?

* – Author’s Note: My favorite part of the Smith interview has nothing to do with this article, but I love the fact that he says Matt Moore is “just a little squirrel trying to get a nut” … hilarious stuff.

Categories: Offseason Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

