Home > Offseason > What an interesting day at the draft

What an interesting day at the draft

I’m still trying to get my thoughts together. The Panthers took Jimmy Clausen at 48, Brandon Lafell at 78, and Armanti Edwards at 89 (Edwards cost the Panthers a 2nd round pick in 2011), and I must say that my initial reaction of the Clausen pick violated the 3rd Commandment, but after much thought on the matter I am happy with the picks that the Panthers made.

It’s going to be a hell of a training camp with a battle for the starting QB position between Clausen and Matt Moore, but I’m looking forward to it. Clausen has impressed me with his attitude about being drafted by the Panthers, and I hope that he pans out and becomes a franchise QB for us for the next 10 years.

I think that Lafell was a great pick, as we now have a replacement for Moose – a good receiver with excellent blocking skills who should be an instant upgrade for us on offense.

I’m surprised we traded a future pick to get Edwards at 89, mainly because I think he would have been on the board at 112 when we pick again tomorrow, but obviously the front office knows something I don’t know, or they wouldn’t have made the deal.

I’m going to gather all my thoughts and write a post-draft article on all the moves that were made, because if I try and give an in-depth analysis right now I’m afraid my head will explode.

Stay tuned for day three of the draft, where there is no telling what may happen.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

